We got married young so now let's figure this shit out.

Mike picks his favorite movies from 2010

After a pretty disappointing 2009, I was ready for a turnaround in 2010. Luckily 2010 delivered with an assortment of fantastic titles. Some of these became instant favorites and hopefully next year will bring another crop of awesome flicks. Here are my favorite film from 2010 in no particular order.

Inception: This is probably the most obvious choice, as most 20 something males swoon at the sound of Christopher Nolan’s name, but I just wanted to reiterate what a fantastic film this was. Nolan found away to take something thats been done a million times and make it totally fresh. We’ve seen heist movies over and over, but never one quite like this. Nolan combines incredible imagery with complex narrative and intensely emotional characters to create one of the most intense, creative films of the year. Mix that with an ending that will have people debating for hours on end and you’ve got a movie that people will love for years.

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: Edgar Wright is the man. Every one of his films have delivered in such a satisfying fashion that it makes me sad he’s only done three movies. Now I’ve never read Scott Pilgrim, but I could instantly identify with the ADD-Super NES-bubble gum-electronica-canadian-utopia Wright and co brought to life on the silver screen. The perfectly cast, super fun, visually striking film struck a perfect chord and its a pity that for some reason, no one went to see it. I hope this doesn’t cause movie companies to avoid taking chances on movies of this caliber. Scott Pilgrim was a perfectly irrelevant romp and a fresh of breath air.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt 1: We’ve watched JK Rowling’s work come to life for a decade, and now the first part of the epic finale has finally arrived and I’m glad to say it was well worth the wait. Director David Yates casts his moody vision over Harry and friends and we follow them on a breathtaking romp through paranoia, danger, and inner conflicts. The cast is pitch perfect and its nice to see that all of the kids have fully grown into their second identities as the beloved characters of the wizarding world. Pt 1 is a perfect set up to the undoubtedly epic to be Pt 2. Can’t wait to see Harry and Voldemort finally duke it out mano a snakeface.

Toy Story 3: Toy Story 3 was perfect. There’s not much else to say. It was funny, emotional, beautiful, innocent yet immensely deep, powerful, nostalgic, beautifully written, remarkably shot… I’ve run out of adjectives. It was the perfect conclusion to the perfect film trilogy. A flawless film.

The Social Network: David Fincher has the phenomenal talent to take something that should by all respects be a total snooze fest, and make it fantastically intriguing. In The Social Network, Fincher gives us fascinating character drama full of atmosphere and intrigue served alongside some of the most compelling characters ever to grace film. Trying to understand the motives of the protagonist, and I use that term loosely, is like trying to decipher ancient sanskrit after drinking half a bottle of Nyquil. The film is full of such complexities its mind boggling. Social Network will stay with me for a long time.

I can’t wait for 2011 and I hope it brings as many great flicks as 2010. I’ll leave you with some of the movies I’m looking forward to seeing.

Black Swan
The Kids are Alright
Harry Potter Pt. II (duh)
Somewhere
Captain America
Cars 2
Ong Bak 3
Winnie the Pooh

MIKE

One response

  1. Chris Nolan

    I researched all the films of 2010 hoping to find a movie that could easily displace Harry Potter as one of the top five movies of the year… but sadly I couldn’t. I thought about all the films I had seen this year… and all the movies I knew were better, were already featured on your list. This isn’t to say that I think if I watched every movie of 2010, that Harry Potter would be top 5. I think, based off of mostly reviews, that either How to Train Your Dragon, True Grit, The Fighter, Black Swan, 127 Hours, or The Kids Are Alright would replace it. At least for my top 5 movies of the year.

    January 2, 2011 at 04:47

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.